ITIL® Managing Across the Lifecycle Certificate



IT Service Management is a continual process. This certificate concentrates on the management side of ITIL®, from the perspective of planning, implementation, strategic change and risk management. Participants consider IT Service Management over the long term.

Target group

A certificate for CIOs, Senior IT Managers, IT Managers and Supervisors, IT professionals and IT Operation practitioners. You are involved with monitoring the ITIL® Lifecycle and improving IT Service Management in your organization


The certificate is compulsory for anyone wishing to obtain the ITIL® Expert certificate. ITIL® Expert is an initial requirement for becoming an ITIL® Master in IT Service Management.

e-Competence Framework (e-CF)

The mapping of this certificate against the e-Competence Framework.

e-CF Areae-Competencee-1e-2e-3e-4e-5
PLANA.1. IS and Business Strategy Alignment    
A.2. Service Level Management    
A.7. Technology Trend Monitoring    
EnableD.4. Purchasing    
D.8. Contract Management    
D.9. Personal Development   
D.10. Information and Knowledge Management    
D.11. Needs Identification    
Manage E.2. Project and Portfolio Management    
E.3. Risk Management    
E.4. Relationship Management   
E.5. Process Improvement   
E.7. Business Change Management    
E.9. IS Governance    

Legend for coverage:

 General - The competence is covered at the level indicated
 Partial - The competence is covered to some extent
 Superficial - Relevant knowledge is covered to some extent
 The competence level is available in the framework
 The competence level is not available in the framework


- The ITIL® Foundation certificate in IT Service Management*

- An accredited training by an accredited training provider

- Obtained at least 15 credits with ITIL® Service Lifecycle or Service Capability qualifications

*Or the Foundation certificate in IT Service Management (based on ITIL®) (version 2) in combination with the ITIL® Foundation bridge certificate.

Exam content

Candidates are tested on 8 topics:

  1. Key concepts of the service lifecycle
  2. Communication and stakeholder management
  3. Integrating service management processes across the service lifecycle
  4. Managing services across the service lifecycle
  5. Governance and organization
  6. Measurement
  7. Implementing and improving service management capability

Exam Details

  1. Number of questions: 10
  2. Pass mark: 70%
  3. Open book: No
  4. Electronic equipment allowed: No